English Language Learners Task Force

The Boston School Committee created the ELL Task Force in October, 2009 to provide guidance to the School Committee, the Superintendent, and BPS on the vision and development of a plan of action that responds to the new demographics of the BPS for students whose home language is not English and to identify mechanisms to address the needs of our increasing multicultural and multilingual district and its students.
The ELL Task Force presented recommendations to the School Committee in March, 2011. The School Committee endorsed the recommendations in June, 2011 and approved the reconstitution of the ELL Task Force into a monitoring body that would meet during SY 2011-12 and continue through June, 2013 to review progress made towards implementing the recommendations.
The recommendations included these seven priority goals:
  • Recognize and Promote BPS as a Multilingual, Multicultural District
  • Improve Student Assessment and Assignment
  • Expand Program Quality and Quantity
  • Improve Family/Community Engagement
  • Support ELL Students with Special Needs
  • Improve Data Systems and Use of Technology
  • Ensure Accountability and Monitoring
  • Co-Chair, Miren Uriarte, Boston School Committee member, Professor, UMass Boston, Mauricio Gastón Institute
  • Co-Chair, Abdul Hussein, CEO, African Community Education Development of New England (ACEDONE)
  • Janet Anderson, Executive Vice-President, EdVestors
  • Diana Lam, Head of School, Conservatory Lab Charter School
  • Suzanne Lee, former principal, Josiah Quincy Elementary School
  • Theresa Perry, Professor, Departments of Africana Studies and Education, Simmons College
  • Wilmer Quiñones, Sociedad Latina
  • Bob Hildreth, President, Families United in Educational Leadership
  • Rev. Cheng Imm Tan, former Director, Mayor’s Office of New Bostonians
  • Dr. Maria de Lourdes Serpa, Professor, Lesley University School of Education
  • Paolo De Barros, Program Director, Catholic Charities Teen Center at St. Peter’s
  • Vanessa Snow, Hyde Square Task Force
  • John Mudd, advocate
  • Kim Janey, Senior Project Director, Massachusetts Advocates for Children
  • Achly Esparra, Student, Greater Egleston Community High School
Coordinator: Michael Berardino 
Email: bpselltaskforce@gmail.com
To learn more, or review the meeting archives, click here